Home > Worship > 30 Days of Prayer

30 Days of Prayer

I have always struggled with getting the time that I need during the day to pray. Some how I don’t think I am alone. It’s so much easier to worship God in “other” ways like singing in church, reading the Bible, but sincere, heartfelt prayer is something different. I think the reason it is hard for people like me and others it that prayer exposes us.

When we kneel down and pray, we open up ourselves to God’s will. Unfortunately, we don’t like the fact that we have to change our ways or lay down our pride. So, we avoid prayer. Even if you don’t, your prayer like consists of prayers like, “Thank you for this day. Thank you for my life. Amen.” or “Dear Lord, why can’t people be more like me? Please help change them.” Do these sound familiar to you?

This week I have begun a challenge for 30 days of prayer. I am working through the book Pray Big for Your Marriage, but prayer is by no means just for married couples. The challenge here consists of praying through the scripture. This may be a new idea to some of you. Let me explain it to you.

Praying through the scriptures allows us to get God’s heart and God’s desires rather than our own. Remember, just like anything else with God, its about Holiness not Happiness. You read a passage and you ask God to reveal the principle of that passage in your life. For example, one of my favorites is John 3:30, “He must become greater; I must become less.” If this doesn’t knock you off your pedestal, I don’t know what will. Your prayer would look something like this:

Father, I humbly submit myself to you with the knowledge that you are creator of all things. Help me become less as I step back and give you greater room to work in my life. Help my desires fade and your desires grow in me. When people see me, I pray that they would see more of you then they would of me. Become greater in my life and help me become less. I ask this in your Son’s name, Amen.

It’s this heart that does give God the greatest room in our lives to work. It becomes more about acknowledging His work and less of ours. If your prayer life is suffering, I invite you to pray through the scriptures with me. I am going to use the guide in the book Pray Big for Your Marriage by Will Davis Jr. This is a 30 day challenge. Pray with me.

I do ask that if you take this challenge, you let me know. I would love to be praying with you and for you through the next month.

Day 1 Mark 10:7-9
Day 2 Matt 6:33
Day 3 Jer 32:39
Day 4 Matt 6:9
Day 5 Matt 6:10
Day 6 Matt 6:11
Day 7 Matt 6:12
Day 8 Matt 6:13
Day 9 Proverbs 22:1
Day 10 Col 3:12

We’ll stop there, but we’ll have  a check in on Day 10 and I’ll give more at that point. If you are married and taking this challenge, I recommend you pick up this book. It can also be purchased at one of the Weekend to Remember Getaways.

Check out 30 Days of Prayer (part 2) to continue your journey!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment