Home > Discipleship > What is a man?

What is a man?

If you type, “What is a man?” into a Google search, you get all sorts of answers. I was pretty surprised by this. Everyone seems to have their own definition of what manhood is. Maybe its loyalty, maybe its defined by strength, maybe its defined by order. Who really knows?

My wife and I sat behind the bench of the opponents team last night at our local Indoor Football League game. I bet if I were to ask their coach he would say he is a man. However, when I hear him throwing F-Bombs loud enough for the whole arena to hear including all the children in the crowd, I’d question his manhood. Or maybe I ask the  man who is beating his wife physically or emotionally. I bet he would say he is a man. Afterall, he is keeping order in his home. However, if you are reduced to this kind of activity to keep order, I would question his manhood as well.

Tonight we are beginning Quest for Authentic Manhood. Tonight we will begin our search for what a man is. We will soon determine who have graduated to manhood and who have not.

I look forward to this journey because I have never been told whether or not I am a man, I have just always assumed I am. Too many guys in this world have also assumed that they have achieved manhood. Are we wrong? Maybe. The important thing is that we know how to define what a man is and not just with words but also in everyday actions.

To leave you with some scripture from a someone who had to learn what it was to become a man, Paul. He says in 1 Corinthians 16:13-14, “Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong. 14 Do everything in love.” This may be the simplest definition of manhood, but its a good one.

If you want to find out what it means to be a man, please check out http://www.mensfraternity.com

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

