Home > Community > Who are you…really?

Who are you…really?

It’s a bit ironic that while we live in an age where information about any given person can be found just about anywhere, in person, we do our best to put our best facade up. When it comes down to the facts, we don’t want people to know who we really are.

I have been seeing a lot of people put out warnings about a website (www.spokeo.com). This website publishes “personal” information about people. We are warned to adjust the privacy settings so once again, people can’t know who we are. Well, I typed my name into this site, and for those of you who know me well, you’ll get a good laugh out of this. According to Spokeo.com, I am:

Age: 38 (not quite)
Gender: Male (check)
Ethnicity: Caucasian (check)
Zodiac: Aquarias (nope)
Relationship: Single (I hope not!)
Children: Yes (still praying for)
Home Owner: Yes (check)
Residence: Single Family House (check)
Length of Residence: 2 (almost)
Est. Home Value: $400k-$600k (Do I really make that much money?)
Neighborhood: Below Average (I love our neighborhood!)

My Lifestyle & Interest includes:
Has Children
Enjoys Shopping
Enjoys Retail Shopping

My income level is around $50k (Must of missed that raise!)

All I can really say is “Wow”. This couldn’t be any further off from who I really am. I mean seriously, I have never enjoyed shopping! I suppose it would also come to a surprise when my wife finds out that we are not married, yet we have children!?

Anyways, really think about this for a moment. When you meet people, what defines you? Can I find out from an internet search that what you really enjoy is serving others? You are a follower of Jesus?  Who are you? What kind of person would I be if what the internet gave as a description for me is what I gave you? Who would you say I am?

For myself, I’d hope if people knew me, they’d know that I love Jesus, I love my wife, and I love people. If we were all open books, what would I know about you?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

