Home > Coaching > A Note for the Guys…

A Note for the Guys…

We’ve been in the depths of football season now for several weeks. It’s our favorite time of year! Championship games for College Football are in beginning this next week and in the pro’s things are just beginning to get interesting. You can bet I’ll be watching till my Packers get another Super Bowl ring!

This time of year is also very important for many wives. My wife is included in this. My weekends tend to revolved around the television and whether the game is on ABC, ESPN 1 or 2, or NFL Network. The few times I get up from there are for lunch and dinner and bedtime and church. Then I am back at it.

I’ve been challenging myself and others recently to think about whether we are doing everything we can for our wives. This doesn’t mean turning off the tv for good, but it means show your wife how much she is worth by putting her above your favorite team.  My bet is, she wants you to enjoy it, but she also wants you. She needs your help, and from time to time she needs you to leave behind the game (even though its tied in the 4th quarter with :45 left) and come help her.

In our house its becoming more and more like Christmas. My wife is amazing at turning our house in to a tasteful reminder of how sweet Christmas is. However, she needs my help. If she needs me to put some lights on the house, help with the Christmas tree, or start washing dishes so everything is right when the family comes, then I will.

You can ask my wife, I am not perfect at this, in fact she may not even know that I challenge myself with this thought very often, but its my duty and my privilege to give my wife the #1 spot over my team and my weekend.

If you are learning how to be more supportive to your wife, I recommend you read For Men Only by Jeff & Shaunti Feldhahn. They will give you great wisdom on what your wife needs from you. So whether you are in the first 5 years of marriage or you’ve been around the block a few times, these are insights you need to know about.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

