Home > Community, Discipleship > One Month to Live?

One Month to Live?

This weeks sermon series on One Month to Live has had me thinking. I think we all want to live a life of no regrets, but the issue is…where do we begin? How do we make our first decision, a good one? I struggle with this too. It’s hard to know what I need to be doing as opposed to what I typically do. Really, the only thing that makes sense to me is to look to Jesus. Now, when He began His ministry, he didn’t have one month, but He had about three years. So, what if I had three years?

Three years might be a little more manageable to stomach, but at the same time, the clock is ticking, pun intended. What would you do? Jesus began His ministry knowing how long He had, when it would happen, and how. Scary thought, eh? There in lies the difference between us and Christ.

He lived with passion, authority, purpose. What are you living for? We’re not guaranteed another breath, but often the next breath is wasted. What can we do to begin living without regret? It all begins with looking how someone lives with passion, authority, and purpose. Christ began His ministry by surrounding Himself with people who would intimately know Him and whom He would know the same.

One of His primary purposes was to know and be known. Are you known by anyone? Do you know anyone outside of office parties and family get togethers?

Christ also lived with authority. He taught truth in every situation. He stood up for what He believed and never backed down. He knew God’s word inside and out left nothing to question. He inspired people by how He lived and how He taught. Reading about Christ now, you or I would never question the authority in which Christ lived by. We know how He lived and who He lived for.

How do you live? Who are you living for? Are you standing up for your beliefs?

Finally, I can’t think of anyone throughout scripture that lived with more passion. Christ came to love and for that He was adored. His compassion for His family, His friends and those who would put their trust in Him was truly magnificent. Passion gives purpose to living with purpose and authority. It’s what completes us. Are we called to live passionately? We sure are!

When people see your gravesite and see those two numbers and the dash that make up your life, how will you be defined? Personally, I want to be seen as someone who has lived with Purpose, Authority and Passion. I want to be known by others and to know those around me. How do I do that? I surround myself with people who have the same goals, I immerse myself into the truth of the Gospel and I live a life of no regrets.

I challenge you determine what your next step is. How will you live a life a Purpose, Authority and Passion? What is the element that has been the missing link in your life? Starting today, live your life with no regrets. Start today and be known by someone and know somebody. Starting today, live a life that is defined by passion.

Make your years, your months, your days and every breath something you can look upon proudly!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

