Home > Worship > From the Plains to the Mountains

From the Plains to the Mountains

Last week I was in the Wyoming mountains near Laramie. It was my first time spending any considerable time in that area. One of my favorite things about heading west from Nebraska is the mountains. I don’t know if its the shear size of them that I am in awe of, or if it is the fact that its definitely not flat out there. Either way, it was a good change for a week.

I have been spending time outdoors since I was an infant. By outdoors, I am not talking about parking lots and outdoor malls, instead I’m referring to National Forest, National Parks, wilderness, wild animals, sleeping in a tent and enjoying God’s creation! I’ve always said that some of the most beautiful places on earth are not accessible by car. You need to hike.

The part I love most about the outdoors are those places where you just know God is present. Even when you are miles away from the closest church, you just know God is present in His creation. The mountains have always been my getaway from the typical structure of a day. It’s my time away from my phone, my email, the dishes, and the general busyness of life. It’s all about immersing myself in what God has carefully created for His glory.

Upon Jesus’ entrance into Jerusalem, scripture says, “the whole crowd of disciples began joyfully praising God in loud voices for all the miracles that had seen:

“Blessed is the king who comes in the name of the Lord!”

“Peace in heaven and glory in the highest!”

Some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to Jesus, “Teacher, rebuke your disciples!”

“I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”

As I spend time in the wilderness, I love hearing the sound of nature. I know that if I can’t praise God for His creation, the rocks will cry out.

So as I return to the normal life one thing I keep with me until next time I am able to retreat for a few days, is that God has called me glorify Him in all I do and to sing praises as often as I can. I have seen His miraculous creation and its up to me to not keep quiet!

Categories: Worship Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

