Home > Discipleship > I just had another growth spurt!

I just had another growth spurt!

Let me just put your minds at rest…I am no taller than I was yesterday. As I was listening to the radio yesterday, I heard someone talk about spiritual growth spurts. I thought the idea was really fantastic and wanted to write on it. Anyways, I’ve been challenged with the idea because sometimes I can go for months and months without any noticeable growth spurts. It’s a long road and when I am not actively growing, what am I doing?

How bout you? When was your last growth spurt?

As I read through scripture, I see a lot of people experience this. I see people making realizations or coming to an understanding of how God is working in their life. One of my favorites is the crowd at Pentecost in which Peter is addressing. It says of the crowd, “they were cut to the heart”. This was not some outward growth, but it was inward. It was a spurt. They understood something about their condition that was unknown minutes before.

Later on, Paul gives us insight into the work that is happening inside him. He says, “But whatevver was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more., I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for who sake I have lost all things.”(Phil. 3:7,8) Again, there is something happening within these people that is drawing them closer and closer to the Lord Jesus Christ.

What is God teaching you? Are you on the verge of a growth spurt? How will that change things for you?

Think about how God is working inside you. He’s in the midst of a glorious upgrade. He is drawing you and I toward Him, and whether you knew it or not, you can’t get closer to Him without change. It’s time to grow!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

