Home > Discipleship > Why is everything under construction?

Why is everything under construction?

If you are in Grand Island, you know that traffic cones, barriers, road workers, tractors, and detours are a normal part of life this summer. As I was heading out for some errands with my wife last night, I blurted out, “Why is everything under construction??”

I began thinking about what I just asked and it made sense to me that nothing would change if we didn’t have reconstruction. In fact, it seems to me Jesus came to this world and put it under construction. He came to call us to change. Paul says it this way in Romans 12:1-2, “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God-this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind…”

Paul hits on a very important scripture. He is telling us to not change to be like this world. He doesn’t end there though. He doesn’t say don’t change at all, he says, change (be transformed) by the renewing of your mind. You see we all live in this world. We are all duped into thinking that we need to live and act like those in this world. This is not why Christ came and died for us. He has called us out of the patterns of this world.

Focus on the Family’s The Truth Project talks a little about this. They talk about this verse, the Greek word for transformation is metamorphoo which is similar to what we’d see a caterpillar do when it changes into a butterfly. There is a complete transformation. This is the work that Christ does in us.

So when you think of all the construction around town as you are headed to work or on your errands, think about the construction that Christ is doing in you. How is He changing you? Are you being transformed or metamorphed into a new creation?

  1. June 22, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I feel that I have been changed in God by most of the events that have happened in my life over the last several years. Born and raised in the Catholic church, something about what I was being taught just didn’t add up. When my wife and I decided to attend TCCC, I was reluctant. I didn’t want to change the way I attended church. But the more we attended, we both agreed that this is what we wanted for our family. I personally felt more active and felt as if God simply took his hand and showed me the way to TCCC’s door. And lately, after my wife had a brain bleed while giving birth to our second child, I really turned to God even more. I remember speaking to Scott Jones and telling him that this was one of the hardest times in my life to go through since the passing of my father back in 1997. But God shown his light down on us and allowed her to be healed. I feel that God has asked me to become more involved with TCCC. I have recently started assisting with communion and hope one day to either assist or host a small group. I can only imagine what he has in store for me in the future. This is one of the best construction projects I have or ever will be a part of in my life. God Bless!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

